Doctors in Training

The South Australian Medical Education and Training (SA MET) Unit, within System Leadership and Design, SA Health, undertakes a range of medical education, training and workforce functions for the South Australian health system.

The Unit also supports the work of the Health Advisory Council (Advisory Council) in its role to improve the quality of education, training and welfare for trainee medical officers (TMOs) and makes recommendations for the accreditation of TMO positions within South Australia.

Dr Hamish Eske is the 2023 South Australian Clinical Educator of the Year

Dr Hamish Eske has contributed to the education of junior doctors substantially and improved education and training opportunities in rural and remote locations. Dr Eske is an extremely in demand rural clinician with extraordinary demands on his time, however he has made medical education of PGY1 and PGY2 doctors a priority by taking on the Director of Clinical Training (DCT) role with the Riverland Academy of Clinical Excellence (RACE) in the Riverland Mallee Coorong Local Health Network (RMCLHN). He is a role model of excellence in rural medical practice and his investment in JMO education and professional development is appreciated by the junior doctor cohort.





Postgraduate Year 2+