SA MET Health Advisory Council Membership

Find out more about the council members below or view the full membership listing.
Kevin Forsyth
Presiding Member

Professor Kevin Forsyth is the Presiding Chair of the South Australian Department of Health Medical Education and Training Council. He is currently working as the Dean, People and Resources, College of Medicine and Public Health at Flinders University. Kevin is also Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, a Paediatric Immunologist with expertise in immune deficiency, and research interests in airway immunology, RSV, pertussis and medical education. He has expertise in academic leadership and medical education--was the inaugural Dean and Director of Education for the Royal Australasian College of Physicians 2006-2010, Director of the Medical Program at Flinders University 2014-2017, and is Chair of the Academy of Child and Adolescent health and of the Global Alliance in Child Health, GapHeal.

Michael Cusack
Chief Medical Officer
Dr Michael Cusack is from the UK and joined the Department for Health and Wellbeing in February 2020 as the Chief Medical Officer. Prior to his current role, he was the Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (NALHN) Executive Director for Medical Services.  He qualified as a doctor in 1992 and subsequently trained as a Cardiologist at St Thomas’ Hospital in London. On completing his training, he took up his consultant post at a newly commissioned regional cardiothoracic centre in Wolverhampton and subsequently became the Clinical Director for Cardiothoracic Services. Dr Cusack has additionally held a number of leadership role in the NHS including Cardiovascular Network Clinical Director, surgical Divisional Director and Medical Director for a large acute NHS Hospital Trust.
Anthony Llewellyn
Accreditation Member
Dr Llewellyn has over 20 years of experience working in the area of prevocational medical education and brings a wealth of additional experience and skills to the role. Dr Llewellyn has over 10 years of board-level experience, including 4 years on the Board of the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) when serving as the Medical Director for Health Education and Training Institute (HETI) in New South Wales. Dr Llewellyn is a Fellow of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Dr Llewellyn has a longstanding interest in medical education and training and has produced several research publications with a focus on psychiatry workforce, trainee selection and junior doctor wellbeing.
Scott Sypek
General Paediatrician WCH

Dr Scott Sypek is a general paediatrician based at Women’s and Children’s Hospital (WCH). He is the WCH Director of Clinical Training and leads the Medical Education Unit delivering the education and training program for prevocational doctors.  Dr Sypek is the SA representative on the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) Australasian DCT committee.  His clinical work includes acute paediatrics, refugee health and complex disability.  Dr Sypek’s educational interests include medical training selection, TMO wellbeing, educational program design and improving TMO supervision.

Catherine (Katy) Gibb
General Physician TQEH & RAH

Dr Katy Gibb is a General Physician working at the Royal Adelaide and The Queen Elizabeth Hospitals in South Australia. Her special interest is in peri-operative physician led assessment and she established the high risk pre-operative assessment service in 2000 which is now a full time ambulatory service across two sites. In this clinical role she is involved in complex decision making and leads discussion on end of life care. She has a strong interest in teaching and professionalism. She was Director of Physician Training from 2002-2006 at TQEH. She completed a Masters in Health Professional Education in 2015. Most recently she has supported clinical input into the Sunrise Electronic Medical Record as Chair of the Clinical Advisory Council.

Sean Jolly
Doctors in Training (vocational)
Dr Sean Jolly is a registrar and trainee of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine. He is currently working at the Royal Adelaide Hospital while undertaking a Master of Medicine (Critical Care). He sits on the SA MET Health Advisory Council and Doctors in Training Committee, several SA MET Working Groups focusing on junior doctor training and education, the AMA(SA) Doctors in Training Committee, and the SASMOA Trainee Medical Officer Committee. As a clinical lecturer at The University of Adelaide, he is also involved in the teaching and assessment of medical students.
Michael Beckoff
Rural Generalist
Dr Mike Beckoff was educated in Adelaide and graduated from Medicine at Adelaide University. Since 2011, Dr Beckoff provided locum support across rural and remote areas Australia and is best described as a “Rural Generalist”, providing services in GP Medicine and Surgery, Emergency Medicine and Advanced Obstetrics, with special interests and expertise in Mental Health and Sexual Therapy. His current positions include, Board Director at the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine, Chair of Finance at Audit and Risk, Chair of the board at Rural Doctor’s Workforce Agency, Medical Education and Training Committee, Clinical Adviser Safety and Quality, Adverse Events, Drugs and Therapeutics at Rural Support Service for rural LHN’s, Clinical Adviser General Practice Training in SA and SA Country PHN Clinical Governance Council.